Refer a Patient Hospice Foundation Volunteer Services Hospice Levels of care Hospice Reimbursement Patient Resources

Kre8tive Design Studio

Golden Rule Hospice

There are 4 levels of care in hospice.

   Routine Home Care

Care is provided by the hospice Interdisciplinary Team in the patients’

places of residence (home, assistant living, nursing facility, hotel, etc.).

   Continuous Care

Care is provided in the patient’s residence.

Care is offered for brief periods during a medical crisis.

Care must be provided for a minimum of 8 hours out of a 24 hour period.

   Respite Care

Care is offered to caregivers.

The patient is placed in a contracted nursing facility, contracted hospital,

or an inpatient facility, for up to 5 consecutive days.

   In-Patient Care

Care is offered to patients, whose symptoms are unmanageable at home.

Care is short-term; typically less than 8 days.

Care is provided in a contracted hospital, contracted nursing facility, or

an in-patient facility.